Make a Reservation  
The Island House Hotel
102 Madison St., Port Clinton, Ohio 43452
 
419-734-0100  
  Island House Port Clinton Ohio Testimonials  
 

Email a Testimonial / Feedback

“Loved it here!!”
Reviewed February 1, 2015

We stayed just overnight for a short weekend getaway. If you like old buildings with lots of character and historical value while still being totally cool, you will love this place. It was very clean and decorated nicely. We stayed in room 3313 and while it was small, it was great for what we needed and I loved the old high ceilings! The heater/air was a bit noisy, but not so much that it bothered us. The water did take a few minutes to heat up to the right temp as the desk staff had told us, but only maybe 2-3 minutes and no issues after that. We also loved the bar at Rosie's although it was completely packed, so I would hate to see how busy it gets during peak season. I also appreciated the music choices and the live musicians. It seems there are so many places that play what I like to call "old people music", but the musicians they had the nght we went were awesome and hip, playing original stuff. They also have a nice continental breakfast that included juices, fruit, bagels, cereals, and even hard boiled eggs. We will definitely visit again and are so grateful to the Island House for making our short getaway so much better than we expected!!!


“Beautiful charming hotel”
Reviewed January 26, 2015

Our stay at the Island Hotel was truly lovely! The experience with staff every step of the way was positive from the beginning when I made reservations all the way through to checkout. The live music was so enjoyable and no need to walk outside because Rosie's is attached to the hotel.

Stayed January 2015, traveled with family


“Comfortable and Quiet”
Reviewed January 19, 2015

The Island House is elegant, cozy, and comfortable. We loved the fireplace during our January stay there. The staff is excellent and makes you feel right at home. The restaurant has wonderful service and tasty meals so you don't have to leave the hotel to find an excellent meal. They are very accommodating and we will return!

Stayed January 2015, traveled with family


“Charming and Comfortable”
Reviewed January 3, 2015

We arrived late for an overnight stay just after the New Year. The front desk staff was very helpful and nice. It has a very nice historical charm to it. We were worried that the band music was going to be too loud, but we did not hear anything from the second floor and they did stopped playing at 11pm. We were told to let the water run until it gets warm as it is an old building, we did not have any problem with it. We thoroughly enjoyed the stay, the bed was comfortable and clean. The room has nicely done in historical charm. We will definitely stay there again. Looking forward to our next visit.

Stayed January 2015, traveled with family


“Intimate, jovial atmosphere”
Reviewed January 3, 2015

I took a friend there for his visit as he os not from the area.Food was deliciously fresh and visually appealing. Staff was efficient and friendly. Atmosphere was amazing, decorated beautifully for the holiday season. The best New Years Eve meal I have enjoyed. We look forward to many more visits!

Stayed December 2014


“Beautiful, Historic Island House Hotel in Port Clinton, Ohio”
Reviewed December 28, 2014

This was our fourth or fifth year staying at the Island House just before Christmas. Port Clinton is my hometown. For a boy of modest circumstances, the Island House was an elegant place full of interesting people and the attached restaurant was too fancy to even imagine the food and drink served inside.

It, perhaps, was never as exotic as a young boy imagined and I was in the restaurant in the 70s and it looked like it had seen the end of its elegant days. That has changed and the hotel has restored much of what it was and it is a very nice place to stay. The rooms retain their historic feel, but are well taken care of and the bathrooms are modern enough. The staff is friendly and helpful. The complimentary hot breakfast is delicious and much appreciated over the holidays when restaurants are closed.

All in all your time spent at the Island House will be very enjoyable.

Room Tip: Room in the northeast corner have a view of the lake and quaint downtown.

Stayed December 2014, traveled with family


“Holiday Party Evening in Port Clinton”
Reviewed December 16, 2014

Many of our Marina friends stayed in Port Clinton at the Island House the weekend of our yacht club party in the winter. The hotel was warm and inviting and decorated nicely for the season. The rooms were very comfortable and great amenities and the staff was very friendly. The Hotel is well situated in walking distance from other nice restaurants and pubs. I would highly recommend this hotel in the winter as well as the summer time.

Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends


“Cozy place to stay in the heart of Port Clinton”
Reviewed November 23, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay in this hotel. The room was simple, cozy and comfortable. The in house restaurant and bar provide good options and have friendly staff. The hotel has served Bogart, Bacall and a few presidents.

 

 
Home Explore the Hotel Area Attractions Weddings Packages Reservations Contact Us
  Accommodations Jet Express Meetings        
  Longer Stay Cedar Point Reunion/Parties        
  Condotel Wineries          
  History Bird Watching        
  Testimonials Lake Erie Islands          
  Photo Gallery Miller Ferry          
  Directions Lake Erie Fishing          
    Beaches & Boating          
               
lake eries and shores tripadvisor facebook twitter google plus youtube